Flight Sim X / FS2004 Forums: This old bird - Flight Sim X / FS2004 Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

This old bird Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   ModelSkinny 

  • Commercial Pilot
  • Icon
  • Group: Commercial Pilot
  • Posts: 233
  • Joined: 25-July 09

Posted 17 March 2010 - 12:02 AM

I've had the UIVER DC-2 for some time now, and haven't done much with it. Last weekend I was down at my airport for some training and there was a beautiful restored DC-3 just sitting there looking grand and it got me to thinking I should really learn this propliner.

I like to learn is stages, first I learn to start the engines then go up for a short flight with pattern work to learn the approach speeds. Well I learned how to get the engines started in this bird and decided to take a short flight over Jamaica to see my LatinVFR scenery(BTW LVFR is great stuff, it looks great and is easy on the frames).

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

At least I knew where the prop feather was...
Posted Image

welcome to Jamiaca folks!
Posted Image

Well as you can see I lost BOTH engines on the climb out and had to glide back in for a landing on the beach...I guess it's back to the manual, this old bird is picky.
0

#2 User is offline   Dredd 

  • Proud to fly Horizon!
  • Icon
  • Group: + Reporters
  • Posts: 2244
  • Joined: 14-February 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK ~ Cornwall
  • Real Name:Neil
  • My FS Rig
  • CPU: AMD AM2+ 9650
  • Memory: 4Gb @1033MHz
  • Video: GTS450 1GB

Posted 17 March 2010 - 07:34 AM

Nice shots, and a good forced landing .. well done!
0

#3 User is offline   venom370 

  • Commercial Pilot
  • Icon
  • Group: Commercial Pilot
  • Posts: 249
  • Joined: 04-July 07
  • Location:JC,NJ USA
  • Real Name:Mike
  • My FS Rig
  • CPU: Amd Quadcore
  • Memory: 2048mb
  • Video: EVGA 9800gtx+ 512mb

Posted 19 March 2010 - 05:59 AM

great shots
0

#4 User is offline   ModelSkinny 

  • Commercial Pilot
  • Icon
  • Group: Commercial Pilot
  • Posts: 233
  • Joined: 25-July 09

Posted 19 March 2010 - 07:56 AM

Thanks guys.

I actually completer a flight with it last night Kingston to Montego Bay. My power settings were way off the first time.
0

#5 User is offline   Thomas 

  • We Want ABBA!
  • Icon
  • Group: 747 Pilot
  • Posts: 404
  • Joined: 15-October 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK, Barnsley
  • Real Name:Thomas
  • My FS Rig
  • CPU: Athlon 2.6 Dual
  • Memory: 3GB RAM
  • Video: HD5770 1GB

Posted 19 March 2010 - 11:19 AM

Awesome shots!, I think Aerosoft or A2A should make a Dc3/Dc2 that would be awesome.

Im not sure weather they have made one or not! :lol: Correct me if i am wrong.
0

#6 User is offline   ModelSkinny 

  • Commercial Pilot
  • Icon
  • Group: Commercial Pilot
  • Posts: 233
  • Joined: 25-July 09

Posted 19 March 2010 - 12:34 PM

View PostThomas, on 19 March 2010 - 11:19 AM, said:

Awesome shots!, I think Aerosoft or A2A should make a Dc3/Dc2 that would be awesome.

Im not sure weather they have made one or not! :lol: Correct me if i am wrong.


I think there's a very nice DC-3 from MAAM-sim (Mid Atlantic Air Museum) which seems to be the reference aircraft by which all others are judged, it's a converted 2004 model but looks great in FSX after all patches are applied. I don't think any of the big houses have made one.

I didn't realize how big there aircraft were until I got up close to one.
0

#7 User is offline   Thomas 

  • We Want ABBA!
  • Icon
  • Group: 747 Pilot
  • Posts: 404
  • Joined: 15-October 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK, Barnsley
  • Real Name:Thomas
  • My FS Rig
  • CPU: Athlon 2.6 Dual
  • Memory: 3GB RAM
  • Video: HD5770 1GB

Posted 19 March 2010 - 12:50 PM

Yea i absolutely was up the arse of the MAAM DC3 some time ago but that was bofore it was Fsx compatable.. But since then i did have it in fsx but it seemed just like the default Dc3 just with a nicer interior model.... A2A really put some effort and life into their planes they make with wing shudder and stuff. I really hope they make a DC3.
0

#8 User is offline   Brendan 

  • Your Humble Narrator
  • Icon
  • Group: + FSBreak Hosts
  • Posts: 369
  • Joined: 05-May 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Edmonds, WA
  • Interests:Anything with wings... preferably Russian.
  • Real Name:Brendan
  • My FS Rig
  • CPU: Intel E6400
  • Memory: 4GB DDR2
  • Video: nVidia 9600GS

Posted 21 March 2010 - 11:31 AM

If A2A made a DC3... I dunno I would probably jump for joy.
0

#9 User is offline   Cessna154 

  • New Flyer
  • Icon
  • Group: New Flyer
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 21-March 10

Posted 21 March 2010 - 07:03 PM

Great shots! Really enjoyed them.
0

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users